Rosita

I believe that over the course of our lives, we’re blessed with many different role models, sent to help us along a leg of our respective journeys.  These role models, whether they know it or now, and regardless of if we even ever meet them in person, can help us to keep our eyes on the prize.  I was recently “introduced” to such a woman, and I don’t even know her last name.  Rosita, who’s a mother like me, has recently figured out how to chase her dreams, in the midst of raising her large, squealing family.  She goes to great lengths, even constructing an elaborate ‘machine’ to both lessen the impact on her family and give her the flexibility needed to practice her songs and steps.  (For the record, if you know where I can get myself one of THOSE, I’m all ears!)  As she follows her heart, and her authentic self, the most tremendous thing happens, she not only finds success but herself and her family are the real winners.  She’s a better mother and wife when she’s true to herself and her calling. Now, in the spirit of full disclosure, we don’t share many similarities, other than motherhood, and the fact that we’re chasing dreams, but I think that’s more than enough. If she found a way to practice harder while raising twenty-five children, I can surely find a way to write more with three. She found her own voice, albeit, with a microphone, I’m slowly but surely finding my own, on paper.  Every time our paths cross, and she dances across my TV screen, I’m filled with excitement for both of us.  I still don’t know much about her; she does sound a lot like Reese Whitherspoon and I do know she’s a fan of Katy Perry, but that’s the extent of it.  I’d love to meet her in person one day and tell her how much I look up to her.  But sadly, that will never happen… because, well, she’s a dancing, singing pig… and I’m not.

Okay, enough silliness for now, even though I meant a lot of what I said.  We have to take full advantage of whatever inspiration we can find, right?  Today was a holiday in my world, so I’m keeping it brief… if today was a special day in yours, I hope it was a great one. If you need a reason to smile, treat yourself to the movie Sing, you won’t be disappointed.

 

Thanks for reading, come back anytime!

-JP

2 thoughts on “Rosita

  1. I feel like Rosita is my spirit animal. I cried the first time I saw the movie because I just, so, get her. My children were dancing to “Shake it off,” while I was standing and cheering her on in full empathetic glory. Love your posts. In a way, you have been MY Rosita 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

