Week Two of Our #100PictureBookSummer

What a fun week of books this has been!  There was something for everyone in this stack. As we made our way through numbers 11-20, each day my kiddos had a new favorite.  In fact, it was hard to get them to commit to one, but I finally managed, thanks to a little wheeling & dealing.  (Toddlers are the world’s best negotiators.) Here’s our list:

  1. When Sophie Gets Angry… Really, Really Angry by Molly Bang
  2. If You Want to See a Whale by Julie Fogliano & Erin E Stead
  3. Owl Moon by Jane Yolen & John Schoenherr
  4. Frederick by Leo Lionni
  5. Tap the Magic Tree by Christie Matheson
  6. The Rainbow Fish by Marcus Pfister
  7. The House in the Night by Susan Marie Swanson & Beth Krommes
  8. Tin Lizzie by Allan Drummond (this one was a substitution, I couldn’t find Pedal Power by Allan Drummond)
  9. Hooray for Hat by Brian Won
  10. Going Places by Peter and Paul Reynolds.

If you’re just joining us on our #100PictureBookSummer, here’s the link to Book Nerd Mommy’s 100 Picture Books for your Summer Reading that we’re following.

http://www.booknerdmommy.com/100-picture-books-summer-reading/

I couldn’t put my finger on an underlying theme through all ten books this week, but there were lessons there for sure.  In Owl Moon, Tin Lizzie and If You Want to See a Whale, it was one of patience and persistence.  Going Places and Frederick celebrated those who think outside the box, and Hooray for Hat and When Sophie Gets Angry… helped to illustrate emotions and simple, silly ways to overcome those which are not so fun.  Tin Lizzie also did a beautiful job starting a conversation of conservation (tongue twister) and change.

I can’t pick a favorite, but if you’ll indulge me for a moment I do want to share a sweet story.  We live in such a rural area that it takes two libraries (and two library cards) to get all 10 books each week.  I try to get as many as I can from our local, small town library, and Owl Moon was one of those.  As the rest of my family was running around, burning off the last of their summer evening energy, I picked up Owl Moon and snuck to my room to enjoy it in quiet.  As I opened the cover, I stumbled upon a touching and tender surprise.  Twenty-nine years ago, I lost my older brother.  My parents channeled their grief and honored his memory in many ways over the years.   I’m not sure if they even remember all that they did to help my sisters and I to remember him. I am fairly certain that when they bought and donated a book to the library in his honor, they never thought about the effects it would have almost thirty years later.  As I looked on the inside cover of Owl Moon, I saw his name, my parent’s name, and my own.  It was like I had been given a heavenly hug and a playful nudge of affirmation.  I was quick to share the moment with my own family, and I savored every word of the book (amidst the running, jumping and squealing in the background).  I guess I do have a favorite, after all.

*Sniffing & clearing my throat*… And now, on to my guest reviewers…

They were asked, “Which book was your favorite? Why?” and then I elaborated a bit.

OC- When Sophie Gets Angry… Really, Really Angry.  Her opinion, “I like that book because it teaches a great lesson about how you can’t be rude” … In my opinion, OC identified with Sophie because she roars when she’s angry too.  It always takes her a while, but she usually figures out how to channel her emotions and work through her ‘volcanic explosions.’

MC- Owl Moon.  His opinion, “I think it was super cool how they went looking for owls in the night time!” … In my opinion, MC is fascinated with the tree line, aka ‘woods’ behind our house and the animals that live there.  We do hear owls from time to time, we’ll just have to try and spot one now. (Thankfully minus the snow.)

YC- Hooray for Hat.  In his words, “I love the grumpy elephant and all the hats!” … My opinion, YC is three… he loves hats and all things silly. End of story.

Time to place holds on our next week stash… so glad you’re following along!

Thanks for reading, come back anytime!

-JP

 

PS- these opinions are just that, opinions… and kid’s opinions at that.  Our ‘reviews’ are only my attempt to keep my children engaged in their summer reading and taking the stories deeper than face value.  We are (obviously) not compensated for these reviews… of library books… by toddlers.

One thought on “Week Two of Our #100PictureBookSummer

Leave a Reply

