Sunday

I’ve always thought that Sunday’s were interesting creatures. For as long as I can remember, they’ve been my favorite day of the week.  Sometimes, they are warm, sunny, restful and peaceful.  Others are cold, rainy, cozy and playful.  Some Sundays are filled with family visits and church services, others are packed to the brim with overdue laundry, housework and the anticipation of the week ahead.  I made a conscious decision when I started this Magnolias & Manuscripts journey to post weekly on Sunday.  I may not feel inspired seven days a week, but somehow, I can count on waking up with the urge to write on a Sunday.  Maybe it’s because I’m most rested, after a playful weekend and two days of ‘sleeping in’.  Maybe it’s my own way of acknowledging my gifts and feeding my soul.  Maybe, it’s only because I can count on my husband being around and having a chance to sneak off with my laptop for a bit.  A typical Sunday at my house starts with a big breakfast.  Then we spend the morning playing outside and after lunch, everyone takes a nap.  (My famous words- “If God needed a day to rest then so do you”) We typically visit with some combination of someone’s grandparent(s), and depending on the season, end the day by grilling burgers or watching football.  Whatever they look like, I heart Sunday’s.

If I take it to a deeper level, I know that writing is how I best nurture myself and my creative urges.   It’s how I feed my soul in a way that honors what is sacred and special inside of me.  For me, writing is a spiritual experience and hope that you’ve found what it is that feeds your own soul in a similar way. There’s a creative side to everyone.  Sure, some can tap into it more easily and can channel it in more obvious ways.  But I hope you’re treating yourself to a bit of creative expression on this warm and rainy Sunday.

There have been 22 Sunday’s since I started blogging and 58 Sunday’s since I started writing picture books.  At some point, I extended a challenge to myself and increased my posts to twice weekly.  Over the course of this summer, Wednesday’s have been the day where we celebrate and document our summer reading goals.  As much fun as that has been, (3 weeks left!) I’ll return to weekly posts at the end of the summer.  I hope you’ll stick around, I have exciting things happening.

Sunday, July 30– Join me for an interview with Randi Lynn Mrvos, author of the soon to be released picture book Maggie and the Summer Vacation Show and Tell.  Check out her new website… http://www.randilynnmrvos.com/

Sunday, August 13– The introduction of my monthly interview series, Paper People.  Here, I track down and check in with debut picture book authors, one year after the launch of their book. There’s no greater teacher than the school of life, and these authors have much wisdom to share!

Sunday, August 20– Join me for my first Paper People interview with author/illustrator Jason Krischner!

Fitting in amongst all the great things mentioned above, will be a very special birthday post, my first ever picture book review (Maggie and the Summer Vacation Show and Tell) and hopefully good news when the contest winners are announced! (Kid Lit College’s Novelty Board Book Contest, and 2017 RYS Picture Book Contest)  Thanks for sharing another Sunday with me and as always…

Thanks for reading, come back anytime!

– JP

Leave a Reply

